Current Fellows

Alyssa Battistoni - alyssa_battistoni@fas.harvard.edu
HUCE Environmental Fellow: 2019-2021
PhD, Political Science, Yale University
Faculty Host: Katrina Forrester, Government

Alyssa Battistoni is a political theorist working at the intersection between environmental politics, political economy, and feminist thought.

Jemma Deer - jemmadeer@fas.harvard.edu
HUCE Environmental Fellow: 2018-2020
PhD English, University of Sussex, United Kingdom
Faculty Host: Verena Conley, Comparative Literature

Jemma Deer works at the intersection of literary studies, deconstruction, and the environmental humanities. She is interested in the ways in which current ecological crises such as climate change, extinction, and biodiversity loss are working to transform the ways we understand the world and our place within it.

Marissa Elizabeth Grunes - mgrunes@fas.harvard.edu
Kernan Brothers Environmental Fellow: 2019-2021
PhD, English, Harvard University
Faculty Host: James Engell, English

Marissa Grunes is a scholar of American literature whose dissertation examines the intersection of architecture and environmentalism in nineteenth-century American culture.

Paul Ohno - pohno@fas.harvard.edu
HUCE Environmental Fellow: 2019-2021
PhD, Chemistry, Northwestern University
Faculty Host: Scot Martin, Earth and Planetary Sciences & John A. Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences

Paul Ohno is a physical chemist studying the physical and chemical properties of secondary organic aerosol particles and the implications of these properties for the climate system.

Elsa Ordway - elsa_ordway@fas.harvard.edu
HUCE Environmental Fellow: 2018-2020
PhD Earth System Science, Stanford University
Faculty Host: Paul Moorcroft, Organismic and Evolutionary Biology

Elsa Ordway is an Earth system scientist studying the interactions between ecological processes, human transformation of the land, and climate change in tropical forests.

Jon Proctor - jproctor1@fas.harvard.edu
French Environmental Fellow: 2019-2021
PhD, Agricultural and Resource Economics, University of California, Berkeley
Faculty Host: Peter Huybers, James Stock,

Jon Proctor develops and pairs methods in econometrics, spatial statistics and machine learning with global socio-environmental datasets to empirically estimate the relationships that govern our climate and agricultural systems.

Jake Seeley - jacob_seeley@fas.harvard.edu
HUCE Environmental Fellow: 2018-2020
PhD Earth and Planetary Sciences, University of California, Berkley
Faculty Host: Robin Wordsworth, Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences; Harvard John A. Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences

Jake Seeley is an atmospheric physicist who studies the interactions between convection, clouds, radiation, and climate.

Adam Slavney - aslavney@fas.harvard.edu
HUCE Environmental Fellow: 2019-2021
PhD, Chemistry, Stanford University
Faculty Host: Jarad Mason, Chemistry and Chemical Biology

Adam Slavney is a chemist and materials scientist who makes and studies porous materials for the capture, storage, and chemical transformation of environmentally important gases.

Harvard University
Center for the Environment

Address: 26 Oxford Street, 4th Floor, Cambridge
Email: huce@environment.harvard.edu
Phone: (617) 495-0368

Connect with us

Follow HUCE to stay updated on energy and the environment at Harvard and beyond.

Subscribe to our mailing list