Current Fellows

Meir Alkon - meiralkon@fas.harvard.edu
Environmental Fellow: 2020-2022
PhD, Politics, Princeton University
Faculty Host: Dustin Tingley, Daniel P. Schrag, Mark Wu, Government

Meir Alkon researches political economy with a focus on the politics of large-scale energy and economic transitions.

Alyssa Battistoni - alyssa_battistoni@fas.harvard.edu
Environmental Fellow: 2019-2021
PhD, Political Science, Yale University
Faculty Host: Katrina Forrester, Government

Alyssa Battistoni is a political theorist working at the intersection between environmental politics, political economy, and feminist thought.

Vinicius de Aguiar Furuie - vfuruie@fas.harvard.edu
Environmental Fellow: 2020-2022
PhD, Sociocultural Anthropology, Princeton University
Faculty Host: Bruno Carvalho, Ajantha Subramanian, Anthropology

Vinicius de Aguiar Furuie is an anthropologist researching Amazonian river trade among riverside populations affected by climate change and large-scale infrastructure projects.

Marissa Elizabeth Grunes - mgrunes@fas.harvard.edu
Kernan Brothers Environmental Fellow: 2019-2021
PhD, English, Harvard University
Faculty Host: James Engell, English

Marissa Grunes is a scholar of American literature whose dissertation examines the intersection of architecture and environmentalism in nineteenth-century American culture.

Paul Ohno - pohno@fas.harvard.edu
Environmental Fellow: 2019-2021
PhD, Chemistry, Northwestern University
Faculty Host: Scot Martin, Earth and Planetary Sciences & John A. Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences

Paul Ohno is a physical chemist studying the physical and chemical properties of secondary organic aerosol particles and the implications of these properties for the climate system.

John Philbin - jphilbin@g.harvard.edu
Environmental Fellow: 2020-2022
PhD, Chemistry, University of California, Berkeley
Faculty Host: Prineha Narang , John A. Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Science

John Philbin works at the intersection of theoretical chemistry, condensed matter physics, and computational material science to understand and develop the next generation of nanomaterial-based technologies.

Jon Proctor - jproctor1@fas.harvard.edu
French Environmental Fellow: 2019-2021
PhD, Agricultural and Resource Economics, University of California, Berkeley
Faculty Host: Peter Huybers, James Stock,

Jon Proctor develops and pairs methods in econometrics, spatial statistics and machine learning with global socio-environmental datasets to empirically estimate the relationships that govern our climate and agricultural systems.

Jake Seeley - jacob_seeley@fas.harvard.edu
Environmental Fellow: 2018-2020
PhD Earth and Planetary Sciences, University of California, Berkeley
Faculty Host: Robin Wordsworth, Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences; Harvard John A. Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences

Jake Seeley is an atmospheric physicist who studies the interactions between convection, clouds, radiation, and climate.

Adam Slavney - aslavney@fas.harvard.edu
Environmental Fellow: 2019-2021
PhD, Chemistry, Stanford University
Faculty Host: Jarad Mason, Chemistry and Chemical Biology

Adam Slavney is a chemist and materials scientist who makes and studies porous materials for the capture, storage, and chemical transformation of environmentally important gases.

Agnes Thorarinsdottir - agnesthorarinsdottir@fas.harvard.edu
Environmental Fellow: 2020-2022
PhD, Chemistry, Northwestern University
Faculty Host: Daniel G. Nocera, Chemistry and Chemical Biology

Agnes Thorarinsdottir is an inorganic chemist studying the physical and chemical properties of metal catalysts that facilitate the conversion of solar energy to chemical fuels under environmentally benign conditions.

Harvard University
Center for the Environment

Address: 26 Oxford Street, 4th Floor, Cambridge
Email: huce@environment.harvard.edu
Phone: (617) 495-0368

Connect with us

Follow HUCE to stay updated on energy and the environment at Harvard and beyond.

Subscribe to our mailing list